View/Close Menu
Staff Book Review

The Raven Boys (the Raven Cycle #1)

By Maggie Stiefvater

For Teens

Teen & Young Adult

Recommended by: Ivy


The Raven Boys is the first book in The Raven Cycle series, which follows the adventures of a group of boys from an elite private school and their friend Blue, a girl from a family of psychics, as they search for the dead king Glendower, who is fabled to grant one wish to the person who finds him.

The story traces across history, dreams, and a variety of magical locations. But where it really shines is in its characters: like Blue, who is a strong and capable female lead, readers will fall in love with all of the "raven boys," Gansey, Ronan, Adam, and Noah. The characters grow and develop throughout the series, and by the end, they feel like old friends.

The fandom surrounding this book is great, and the last novel in the series just came out. Start it today!

Check Availability